International Serie A players banned from traveling

Several international Serie A players have received a ban from traveling from their local health authorities and are unable to join their national teams, reports in Italy claim.

The first local health authority (ASL) that prevented players from joining their national teams was Florence, which banned Fiorentina players from leaving the city after José Maria Callejon had tested positive for Coronavirus.

Fiorentina have been closed in a bubble for two days and according to the Serie A protocol they have to self-isolate for 10 days from when the first case emerged.

Later on Sunday afternoon, other local health authorities in Italy have prevented players from leaving the country and join their national teams.

As of now, players at Sassuolo, Genoa, Roma, Lazio and Inter have been banned from travelling, as each one of these teams have at least one positive player within the group.

Six Juventus players, including Cristiano Ronaldo, broke the Juventus bubble last month to join their national teams and were reported by the club to the local ASL, which informed the Turin Public Prosecutor’s Office, who opened an investigation.

The players that have received a call-up may still join their national teams after the end of their self-isolation period, as other Juventus players did last month.

Dejan Kulusevski, Merih Demiral, Wojciech Szczesny, Aaron Ramsey and others joined their national teams a few days after the beginning of the training camp and after the end of the self-isolation period.

Italy coach Roberto Mancini – who himself is isolating after testing positive for COVID-19 – saw this coming and called up 41 players for the three games against Estonia, Poland and Bosnia. 

It was with the knowledge some would inevitably pull out or at least arrive later once they were given the all-clear by their own regional ASL.

That’s the list of Serie A players who have been banned from traveling to join their national teams:

Argentina: Correa, Lautaro, Martinez Quarta,

Italy: Biraghi, Castrovilli, Cristante, Mancini, Gagliardini, Barella, D’Ambrosio, Darmian, Bastoni, Acerbi, Locatelli, Caputo, Berardi

Chile: Pulgar, Alexis Sanchez, Vidal

Poland: Dragowski

Armenia: Mkhitaryan

Albania: Kumbulla, Strakosha

Slovenia: Handanovic, Zajc

The Netherlands: De Vrij

Belgium: Lukaku

Serbia: Milenkovic, Kolarov, Vlahovic, Milinkovic-Savic

Croatia: Perisic, Brozovi?

Denmark: Eriksen, Schoene

Slovakia: Škriniar

Macedonia: Pandev


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.